SRA composite 1
23.01.2019, Words by Felicity Martin

Dummy Mix 533 // Silk Road Assassins

"If you've ever fancied hearing Burial mixed with the Donkey Kong Country 2 soundtrack then this is the mix for you."

Crack team of producers Chemist, Lovedr0id and Tom E Vercetti are Silk Road Assassins. Having joined forces after meeting on a production course, all three work on film and video game music composition, meaning that jointly their work is widescreen and atmospheric – both tugging at your heartstrings and getting you fired up for the club.

Initially making a mark on instrumental grime’s avant-garde fringes with their glacial peace edits and leftfield electronic sounds, the trio are about to drop debut album ‘State of Ruin’ on Planet Mu, two years on from EP ‘Reflection Spaces’. Boasting contributions from Planet Mu alumni Kuedo and Russian producers WWWINGS, the album was brought to life at Abbey Road studios – and you can listen to first single ‘Bloom‘ here.

Packed with crystalline rap edits, elegant soundscapes and shimmering trap sonics that often dive into something completely unexpected, the trio’s Dummy Mix is an expertly-crafted hour of icy bliss.

“We had a lot of fun with this mix as it’s a bit different to what we’d normally do,” Silk Road Assassins say. “We wanted to highlight our influences and place them side by side with our own music to show where our inspiration comes from. We also wanted to inject a bit of humour into the mix so there are some sort of tongue in cheek mixes in there too that we found quite amusing. If you’ve ever fancied hearing Burial mixed with the Donkey Kong Country 2 soundtrack then this is the mix for you.”

Rika Muranaka – The Best Is Yet To Come
Kuedo – Memory Rain 
Gucci Mane – Hard Feelings
David Wise – Steel Drum Rhumba 
DJ Sports – Parallax
Silk Road Assassins – Bowman
Skee Mask – 50 Euro To Break Boost 
Nobuo Uematsu – Wounded
Simo Cell – La Pulga
David Wise – In A Snowbound Land 
Thast ft. Plies – Gucci Bag (remix)
KCE Japan Sound Team – Warhead Storage 
Indigo – Symbol 7.4
Alexey Omelchuk and Geogogiy Beloglazov – Untitled
21 Savage – 4L ft. Young Nudy
Jeff Van Dyck – Good Death
Silk Road Assassins – Familiars
Future – First Off ft. Travis Scott
Kuedo – Onset (Escapism)
Sascha Dikiciyan – Adam’s Safehouse 
Silk Road Assassins – Saint
Future – Unicorn Purp ft. Young Thug & Gunna
Distance – Out Of Mind 
Dot Rotten – Ivon Ooz 
Silk Road Assassins – Split Matter ft. Kuedo
Mala – Level Nine
Lil Baby – This Week 
Nobuo Uematsu – Ride On
Rush Plus – Slow Release
Sub9k – On My Jeans
Jeff Van Dyck – Hichiriki 
Bill Elm & Woody Jackson – Estancia
Burial – UK
David Wise – Forest Interlude

Listen to the mix on Soundcloud.

‘State of Ruin’ will be released by Planet Mu on February 8th.

You might like