Dummy 21st Century Pop Compilation Art
02.06.2014, Words by dummymag

Dummy presents: 'Dummy: 21st Century Pop Music 2014'

We're releasing a new compilation, featuring a mixture of new, exclusive, and unreleased tracks from some of our favourite new artists.

We are very happy to announce that we are releasing a new compilation, 'Dummy: 21st Century Pop Music 2014', showcasing a mixture of new, exclusive, and unreleased tracks from some of their favourite new artists for 2014/15.

Since launching as a website in 2009, we've dedicated ourselves to covering new and emerging music from across the globe under the banner of "21st Century Pop Music".

While “pop music” is a pretty elastic phrase in 2014, we've always considered there to be an undercurrent of pop to everything that we write about, and that’s reflected in the tracklist of their our ever compilation, whether that’s in Álauda’s storming Falling Star or the moody electronica of Lies, Lies, Lies, a new track by Keysound Recordings artists E.m.m.a and Will Horrocks of LV.

There’s also a global undercurrent to much of the music featured, something that’s always been central to our ethos, be it synth pop from Philippines in Eyedress, John Wizards’ afrobeat pop, or sampledelia from Athens courtesy of Larry Gus sitting next to Real Lies, a group of lads from North London.

This is the first time that a lot of the tracks that make up the compilation have been given a physical release.

Some of the never-before-heard tracks include East India Youth’s reworking of Empress Of’s Realize You, spectral pop music from Brolin, and Damian Taylor remix of Greco-Roman pop singer Tirzah’s I’m Not Dancing (our #2 song of 2013).

Elsewhere, incredibly exciting, globally-informed South London producer Palmistry teams up with Chilean MCs BlazeKidd and Uli K on Ascensión, one of the many highlights of this year’s 'Free Indeed' mixtape. Closing the compilation is minimalist composer/producer and VASE affiliate Kit Grill’s City By Night.

The compilation will be released on both limited edition gold and fluoro orange double vinyl with CD insert (500 copies) and digitally on June 23rd 2014, alongside a limited edition ‘21st Century Pop Music’ t-shirt to commemorate the release.

You can pre-order the digital compilation on iTunes here, and pick up a limited edition vinyl and t-shirt at the Dummy shop.

All pre-orders come with an instant download of Álauda's Falling Star.

'Dummy: 21st Century Pop Music 2014' tracklist:

01. John Wizards – Welcome To Cape Town, Cape Town Welcomes You *
02. Álauda – Falling Star *
03. Larry Gus – Translucid (Two Worlds Cont.)
04. Tev’n – Chasing Storms (Kwes Rework) *
05. Palmistry feat. BlazeKidd and Uli K – Ascensión *
06. Amateur Best feat. Empress Of – Create Your Love
07. Tirzah – I’m Not Dancing (Damian Taylor Rejiggle) *±
08. Empress Of – Realize You (East India Youth Remix) *±
09. Real Lies – World Peace
10. Brolin – Inspectr
11. Eyedress – White Lies
12. Cadenza feat. Deena Jonez – The Darkest Hype (Wondagurl Remix)
13. Mokadem – Nothing
14. E.m.m.a & Will LV – Lies, Lies, Lies
15. Kit Grill – City By Night

* = previously unreleased
± = exclusive

Dummy Records release 'Dummy: 21st Century Pop Music 2014' on June 23rd 2014 (pre-order physical/digital).

You might like