Melanie de Blasio Remix album cover 2
05.02.2015, Words by dummymag

Melanie De Biasio - I'm Gonna Leave You (Clap! Clap! remix)

Worldly-informed producer Clap! Clap! reworks the Belgian jazz singer on her new, Gilles Peterson-curated remix album.

Melanie De Biasio's 2013 album 'No Deal' is being given a thorough overhaul by a range of producers and musicians.

Rather than put together an inconsistent, hodgepodge set of remixers for the project, De Biasio got Gilles Peterson to step in and curate the release, meaning you get a strong set of names from across the electronic and jazz worlds taking on the Belgian jazz singer's source material, including The Cinematic Orchestra, Seven Davis Jr, and Jonwayne.

There's also this remix of I'm Gonna Leave You by internationally-informed producer Clap! Clap!, who keeps the song's smoky vibe and jazzy swing fully intact while peeling back the layers, cranking up the bass, and subtly introducing a stuttered juke rhythm.

Speaking of Gilles Peterson, he recently had a chat with Dummy about the most memorable moments from his Worldwide Awards over the past 10 years.

Melanie De Biasio 'No Deal Remixed' tracklist:

01. I Feel You (EELS remix)
02. The Flow (Hex remix)
03. No Deal (Seven Davis Jr remix)
04. With Love / Sweet Darling Pain (Gilles Peterson & Sinbad remix)
05. Sweet Darling Pain (Chassol remix)
06. I’m Gonna Leave You (Clap! Clap! remix)
07. With All My Love (Jonwayne remix)
08. I’m Gonna Leave You (The Cinematic Orchestra remix)

Play It Again Sam [PIAS] release 'Gilles Peterson presents: Melanie De Biasio – No Deal Remixed' on February 23rd 2015 (pre-order).

You might like