03.08.2011, Words by Charlie Jones

Soma Records have uncovered a tape of an unreleased Daft Punk song

The 1994 track will be released as part of an upcoming compilation album from the record company.

During the process of sifting through artefacts of the early days of Soma Records at the end of last year, a cassette was uncovered labelled “Daft Drive”. It turned out that this dusty relic contained the early demo of a track called Drive by French duo Daft Punk , recorded way back in 1994, before their debut Homework shot them to success.

Chris Lamb describes the moment the record bosses realised what they were listening to: “After standing in awed silence, witnessing this moment, the track faded off and we heard the sounds of French words that the recording had been made over; the remnants of their [Daft Punk’s] parents audio collection. The tape had originally been sent with Rollin’ and Scratchin’ to be released as Soma25 but Soma asked these two bright-eyed and techno-bound Frenchmen, to finish and send Da Funk instead and DRIVE was shelved for a later date.”

The track is now due to be released as part of a compilation album, Soma Records – 20 Years , which will contain plenty of previously unheard sessions and remixes from the label. You can take a peek at the tracklist below, and pre-order the album here .


01. Daft Punk – Drive unreleased 1994
02. Scott Grooves (feat. Parliament/Funkadelic) – Mothership Reconnection (Daft Punk Remix)
03. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On
04. Slam – Azure (Part 1)
05. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Heavenly Mix)
06. Slam – Positive Education
07. The Black Dog – Cost II
08. Samuel L Session – Can You Relate (Joris Voorn Flooding The Market with Remixes)
09. Percy X – X-Trak 1
10. Desert Storm – Desert Storm
11. Slam – Eterna

01. Slam – Groovelock (Deepchord Atmospheric Rebuild)
02. Eastmen – U Dig (Loco Dice Remix)
03. H-Foundation – Slayin’ the Dragon (Klartraum Remix)
04. Hatikvah – In the Spirit (Rod Modell | Deepchord Vector and Velocity Mix)
05. Slam – Human (Oxia Remix)
06. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On (Nick Curly Remix)
07. Pablo – Turn the Page (Alex Under Remix)
08. Vector Lovers – Computrfnk (Sebrok’s Funk You Remix)
09. Itamar Sagi – One Million Oaks (Mark Broom Remix)
10. H-Foundation – Passage of Time (D1Julz Remix)
11. Master H – Magic K (Paul Ritch 31 Trudaine Mix)
12. Silicone Soul – 3am (Maetrik Jazzersize Mix)
13. Slam – Lifetimes (Pan-Pot Bass Times Mix)
14. Slam – Stepback (Mark Henning Remix)
15. Slam – Positive Education (Zero T Remix)
16. Slam – Stepback (Adam Beyer & Jesper Dahlback Remix
17. Tony Thomas – Beginnings (Gary Beck Remix)
18. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Christian Smith and Wehbba Remix)
19. Funk D’Void – Diabla (Joash Remix)

01. [Intro] Percy X Vs Bloodsugar – -3 (Emissons 2) / Scott Grooves feat. Roy Ayers – Expansions (Vocal)
02. Counterplan – 90 Degrees (DJ Q Mix) / Scott Grooves (feat. Parliament / Funkadelic) – Mothership Reconnection (Vocal)
03. Otaku – Percussion Obsession
04. Chaser – Destination Unknown
05. Mark Henning – Last Night
06. Alex Smoke – Chica Wappa
07. Desert Storm – Scoraig ‘93
08. Schatrax – Mispent years (Silicone Soul’s Darkroom Dub) / Hatikvah – In The Spirit (Vocal)
09. Rejuvination – Requiem
10. Slam – Positive Education
11. Universal Principles – Inspiration & Light (Vocal)
12. Slam – This world (Wighnomy Bros. & Robag Wruhme Dub) / Silicone Soul – The Snake Charmer Edit (Vocal)
13. Funk D’ Void – Diabla (Heavenly Edit)
14. Silicone Soul – Chic-O-Laa (H-Foundation Remix)
15. Eastmen – U Dig (Vocal)
16. Silicone Soul – Right On, Right On (Original Mix)
17. [Outro] Hatikvah – Daedalus / H-Foundation feat. Aion – Tonight (Vocal) [Until The Sun Edit]

Soma Records will release ‘Soma Records – 20 Years’ on the 19th September 2011.

You might like