The avalanches 2016
02.06.2016, Words by dummymag

The Avalanches announce new album 'Wildflower'

The Avalanches has announced 'Wildflower', their first album in sixteen years as well as releasing a new single called Frankie Sinatra featuring Danny Brown, MF Doom, and Jean-Michel Bernard.

The follow-up to their debut album 'Since I Left You' is out July 8th, with the Australian plunderphonics revealing details of the release last night after recently updating their website and social accounts, announcing festival performances, releasing the 'Since They Left Us' documentary, and previewing a new single called Subways on a hotline last week. 

During an interview with Zane Lowe on Beats 1 Radio last night (listen below), Robbie Chater and Tony Di Basi stated that 'Wildflower' would feature guest appearances from Father John Misty, Toro Y Moi, Jennifer Herrema of Royal Trux, Camp Lo, Biz Markie, Mercury Rev's Jonathan Donahue, and Warren Ellis of the Bad Seeds/Dirty Three. They also revealed that Jens Lekman and Connan Mockasin were among the artists who collaborated with the Avalanches/for the album, but the collaborations didn't make the album. Here's what Robbie Chater had to say about The Avalanches' return:

“What kept us going during the making this record was a belief in the day-to-day experience of music as a life force – as life energy. Hearing a certain song on a certain morning can change your day; it can make the world look different, changing the way you perceive light refracting through the atmosphere for the rest of the afternoon. Literally changing the colour and feeling-tone of your world.”

Listen to Frankie Sinatra above and watch more videos like this on our YouTube playlist, updated daily. Check out the tracklist and artwork (inspired by Sly and the Family Stone's 'There's A Riot Goin' On' cover) below.

'Wildflower' tracklist:

01. The Leaves Were Falling
02. Because I’m Me 
03. Frankie Sinatra
04. Subways
05. Going Home
06. If I Was a Folkstar 
07. Colours 
08. Zap!
09. The Noisy Eater
10. Wildflower 
11. Harmony
12. Live a Lifetime Love
13. Park Music
14. Livin’ Underwater (Is Somethin’ Wild)
15. The Wozard of Iz 
16. Over the Turnstiles
17. Sunshine
18. Light Up
19. Kaleidoscopic Lovers
20. Stepkids
21. Saturday Night Inside Out
22. Frankie Sinatra (Extended Mix)

The Avalanches will release 'Wildflower' on July 8th through XL Recordings (pre-order).

You might like