31.08.2011, Words by dummymag

DRC Music to drop a charity album this October

A collective of producers gathered by Damon Alban made a trip to Congo in July to make an album, due out on Warp in October.

Damon Alban has gathered a collective of 11 producers recently to work on a new charity album for Oxfam, due out digitally this October, and physically in November via Warp.

The group, which includes T-E-E-D (Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs), Dan The Automator, Jneiro Jarel, Richard Russell, Actress, Marc Antoine, Alwest, Rodaidh McDonald and Kwes all visited the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) to produce an album in five days.

Entitled ‘Kinshasa One Two’, this charity album was recorded by DRC Music (Damon Alban and the collective of producers he gathered), contemporary Congolese musicians, and over 50 local performers including Jupiter and the Okwess International, Bokatola System and Nelly Liyemge in Kinshasa in over fives days this past July. Album artwork is provided by Aitor Throup and Hardy Blechman. Proceeds from ‘Kinshasa One Two’ will benefit the local performers and Oxfam’s work in Congo.

Stream the trailer of DRC Music’s ‘Kinshasa One Two’ below:

DRC Music: ‘Kinshasa One Two’ [Warp] tracklisting:

1. Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge – Hallo
2. N’Gotshima and Bebson – K-Town
3. Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo – African Space Anthem (A.S.A)
4. Love – Love
5. Bokatola System and Evala Litongo – Lingala
6. Yende Bongongo of Okwess International – Lourds
7. Loi X Liberal – Respect Of The Rules
8. Bokatola System – We Come From The Forest
9. Bokatola System – Customs
10. Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande – Virginia
11. Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System – Ah Congo
12. Bebson – Three Piece Sweet part 1 &2
13. Washiba – If You Wish to Stay Awake
14. Bokatola System – Departure

Warp will release DRC Music’s ‘Kinshasa One Two’ digitally on the 3rd October, with a CD and vinyl release to follow on the 7th November

You might like