27.04.2012, Words by Charlie Jones

DJ Shadow reveals 'Hidden Transmissions' release

The hip-hop legend will release a collection of previously unheard material later this year.

The producer/sampler hero DJ Shadow will release ‘Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996’ through his own label later this year, according to RA.

‘Hidden Transmissions’ will feature DJ Shadow’s earliest experiments with the Akai MPC spanning from 1992-1996, a drum machine that proved an important part of hip-hop history and still has an important place thanks to modern producers like Araabmuzik. The collection’s tracklist includes an EP planned for a 1994 release called ‘The Gift Of Gab’, which never came out, containing an version of what would later become Six Days.

DJ Shadow has dipped into his own archives before; 2008 saw the release of ‘The 4-Track Era’ compilation, which included Shadow works from 1990-1992.

‘Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From The MPC Era, 1992-1996’ will be released as a CD, double vinyl LP, and digitally, and customers who order through will be treated to three exclusive bonus tracks. An exact release date is still to be announced.

01. Intropy (Original Version)
02. Vee In Detroit
03. Dreams Of A Piece
04. The Not-So-Quiet Storm
05. Fast Rap Fanfare
06. Intensely Hitting
07. Mystical With Solo
08. Alright
09. Don’t Try It
10. From The Old School
11. Freddi’s Popcorn
12. Quickstep
13. Movin’ On (Gab Demo 1)
14. Falling Up
15. Mellow But Chunky
16. Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2)
17. Heavy Mood
18. Affectations
19. Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3)
20. Aye
21. Brittle But Magic
22. Atmospheric Disturbances
23. Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4)
24. Up For Grabs (Outro) Digital Bonus Tracks
25. Give Up The Drums
26. Slow Poke
27. Vortex

You might like