IMG 9646 e1654515835970
06.06.2022, Words by Billy Ward

King Krule debuts new songs at Primavera Sound 2022

'Flimsier', 'Peripheral', 'Tortoise' and 'Empty Space Cadet'...

King Krule debuted a selection of new songs at his Primavera Sound performance in Barcelona over the weekend.

The gig ended the band’s lengthy hiatus from performing live, after they were forced to cancel their ‘Man Alive!’ European and US tour back in 2020 and subsequently postpone a show in Pryzm Kingston last year due to Covid-19.

Archy Marshall showed no signs of rustiness as he smoothly transitioned back into his stage persona and delivered an impassioned performance of tracks from his previous 3 albums ‘Man Alive!’, ‘The Ooz’ and ‘6 Feet Beneath the Moon’ in front of a slideshow of his childhood dog.

But what made this performance extra special were the tracks he played that people hadn’t heard before. A set list posted to Archy’s Instagram story in the run up to the gig revealed 4 new titles: ‘Flimsier’, ‘Peripheral’, ‘Tortoise’ and ‘Empty Space Cadet’.

It’s no secret that King Krule has a new album on the way – an inconspicuous track list in the background of Archy’s Instagram story a few weeks back got fans excited for what’s to come – yet the songs debuted in Barcelona offer the biggest indicator so far towards the sound of the new record.

King Krule debuted songs from ‘The Ooz’ at his Primavera Sound show in 2017, shortly before he began the official roll-out for the album with singles such as ‘Czech One’, ‘Dumb Surfer’ and ‘Biscuit Town’. If history is anything to go by, we might be in store for some new King Krule releases before the year is out.

Photography: Sam Willicome

Read next: King Krule taps into the tropes of classic horror on ‘Comet Face’ visuals

You might like
10 Best