25.07.2019, Words by Felicity Martin

slowthai, Little Simz, IDLES nominated for the Hyundai Mercury Prize 2019

As decided by a judging panel featuring Jorja Smith, Stormzy and Annie Mac...

The 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize ‘Albums of the Year’ have been revealed, with the longlist of records announced today.

Albums by slowthai, Dave and Little Simz have all been nominated for the prize, along with Black Midi, NAO and IDLES.

Check out the full list of records in the running:

Anna Calvi ‘Hunter’
Black Midi ‘Schlagenheim’
Cate Le Bon ‘Reward’
Dave ‘Psychodrama’
Foals ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1’
Fontaines D.C. ‘Dogrel’
IDLES ‘Joy as an Act of Resistance’
Little Simz ‘Grey Area’
NAO ‘Saturn’
SEED Ensemble ‘Driftglass’
slowthai ‘Nothing Great About Britain’
The 1975 ‘A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships’

The panel of judges include Jorja Smith, Stormzy, Annie Mac and Clara Amfo, along with other music critics and broadcasters.

The judges said: “This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize celebrates both the striking diversity of British and Irish music-makers and their shared purpose in exploring issues of identity and belonging at a time of division and disagreement. And all this is done with music of passion, wit, insight, ambition and heart-stirring optimism!”

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 19 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

You might like