02.07.2010, Words by Charlie Jones

Tricky announces new album, releases track indicating surprising "surf" direction

One of the most exciting artists in the world will release 'Mixed Race' on 29 September. Click through for a tracklisting and to hear the first track, Murder Weapon.

Tricky, now a resident of Paris, where ‘Mixed Race’ was recorded, has made nine albums since 1995’s ‘Maxinquaye’. One of the most compelling – if not consistent – musicians in the world, ‘Mixed Race’ features guestspots from Terry Lynn, Bobby Gillespie, Hakim Hamadouche, Blackman, Franky Riley and his brother, Marlon Thaws.

He describes his new record like this: “Every album is a learning experience and this is concentrated music, there’s no dilution. I’m comfortable in my own skin now, comfortable with being in the light. I’m not just a kid from Knowle West trying to build a future, I have some experience, I can experiment, I can be honest, and honestly, musically, I can’t be touched. I used to hide in the shadows when I played live, now I perform. I used to hate doing interviews, now I feel honoured that people would be interested in what I have to say. I’ve spent my life going between cultures; ‘Mixed Race’ is about that, and in a very direct way.”

We love Tricky like we love our mates’ tetchy older brother, and we love this El-P-meets-the Trashmen track, Murder Weapon, which will appear on the record.

Tricky – Murder Weapon by DominoRecordCo

‘Mixed Race’ tracklisting
1. Every Day
2. Kingston Logic
3. Early Bird
4. Ghetto Stars
5. Hakim
6. Come To Me
7. Murder Weapon
8. Time To Dance
9. Really Real
10. Bristol To London

Domino will release ‘Mixed Race’ by Tricky on 29 September 2010

Visit Tricky’s myspace

You might like