26.01.2011, Words by dummymag

About Group’s new single: You’re No Good

The first single from About Group’s forthcoming second album will be released on Domino on March 14th 2011.

About Group are Alexis Taylor (Hot Chip), John Coxon (Spring Heel Jack, Spiritualized), Charles Hayward (This Heat, Camberwell Now, Monkey Puzzle Trio, Clear Frame) and Pat Thomas (has played with Derek Bailey, Tony Oxley, Jimmy Carl Black and Eugene Chadbourne amongst countless others). The four-piece took Terry Riley’s 1967 track You’re No Good, on which the minimalist composer referenced Harvey Averne’s latin soul track entitled You’re No Good as well, and deconstructed it down to its raw parts before building up to an improvisation, which results in an eleven minute track combining the original Harvey Averne recording and Riley’s experimentation.

Play the above video for a glimpse of About Group performing You’re No Good.

Domino will release About Group’s second album on 12” vinyl and digitally on 14th March, 2011.

You might like