18.07.2011, Words by dummymag

Four Tet mixes Fabriclive 59

New material and field recordings are featured on Four Tet's latest mix for Fabric.

Details of Four Tet’s Fabriclive 59 mix have been unveiled. This vinyl-only mix was constructed on computer by Kieran Hebden, and gathers 27 tracks, including old school 2-step garage, leftfield electronics, new Four Tet material, field recordings captured at Fabric nightclub, london, and more. The producer has also explored the idea of music and clubbing by sending his audio engineer Sasha Lewis to make field recordings from fabric to replicate the passage between different rooms in the venue.

The mix features artists like Burial, Caribou, Ricardo Villalobos, STL, and Floating Points; Kieran also includes a previously unreleased track, suitably entitled Fabric, and closes the mix with his own Text-released track, Locked.

On explaining the concept behind the mix, Kieran says, “This mix is not about my DJing. It’s about London and Fabric and nights out and my take on all that. The memories and the influences. I used old and new music, I used recordings of Fabric, and I made new tracks of my own for it. I hope people play it fucking loud and lose their minds in it and remember or imagine what it’s all about.”

Four Tet: ‘Fabriclive 59’ [Fabric] tracklisting:

1. Intro
2. Michel Redolfi – Immersion Partielle [INA-GRM]
3. Crazy Bald Heads – First Born [On-Tick]
4. Persian – Feel Da Vibe [Same People]
5. KH – 101112 [unreleased]
6. Youngstar (Musical Mob) – Pulse X [Inspired Sounds]
7. Crazy Bald Heads – First Born (Four Tet Remix) [unreleased]
8. Floating Points – Sais (Dub) [Eglo]
9. Apple – Mr Bean [Appsolute]
10. Manitoba (Caribou) – Webers [Leaf]
11. Big Bird – Flav (Urban Myths Remix) [Nice n Ripe]
12. Genius – Waiting [Kronik]
13. Four Tet – Fabric [unreleased]
14. David Borden – The Continuing Story Of Counterpoint, Part Nine [David Borden]
15. STLDark Energy [Something]
16. Percussions – Percussions One [unreleased]
17. C++ – Angie’s Fucked [Music For Freaks]
18. Burial – Street Halo [Hyperdub]
19. KMACape Fear [KMA]
20. WK7 – Higher Power [Power House]
21. Ricardo Villalobos – Sieso [Cadenza]
22. Four Tet – Pyramid [Text]
23. Red Rack’em – How I Program [Bergerac]
24. Active Minds – Hobson’s Choice (Tune For Da Man Dem) [white]
25. Armando Gallop & Steve Poindexter – Blackholes [Muzique]
26. Outro
27. Four Tet – Locked [Text]

Fabric will release Four Tet’s Fabriclive 59 on the 19th September in the UK and the 18th October, 2011 in the U.S.

You might like