Moses Boyd 2
17.06.2020, Words by Felicity Martin

Moses Boyd and Digga D lead nominations for the all-virtual AIM Awards 2020

It's the UK’s first large-scale music awards to go digital

The AIM Awards, the long-running awards ceremony celebrating musical independence, goes online this year on August 12th.

Its tenth anniversary edition is UK’s first large-scale music awards to go digital, and Arlo Parks has been confirmed as a live performer on the night.

Afrobeat pioneer Tony Allen was announced as the winner of the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award, and will receive the award posthumously following his passing in April.

Digga D and Moses Boyd have earned three nominations each, while Hanai Rani, Greentea Peng, Floating Points and Flying Lotus follow with two each.

A brand new ‘Best Remix’ category has been introduced, with nominees including Lafawndah’s ‘TOURIST X NÍDIA REWORK’ and Soulwax’s remix of Marie Davidson’s ‘Work It’ (which featured in our best tracks of 2019 list).

Voting for the Best Live Act is open to the public, who can do so here.

AIM CEO Paul Pacifico said: “As the ceremony evolves into a virtual event, it’s wonderful to see that this year’s list of nominees is also firmly on the cultural cutting edge. This is an eclectic and talented group of artists that truly represents the breadth, depth and diversity of independent music which these awards exist to celebrate. With our new virtual format opening the door to an exciting range of possibilities, we can’t wait to reveal what we have in store for August, and see where this year takes us.”

Dummy’s editor Felicity Martin was on the judging panel for the awards this year alongside other journalists, broadcasters and musicians.

See the full list of nominees below.

UK Independent Breakthrough

Digga D
Fontaines D.C.
Moses Boyd

International Breakthrough

Floating Points
Hania Rani

Best Independent Track in Association with Facebook

AJ Tracey – ‘Dinner Guest (feat. Mostack)’
Digga D – ‘No Diet’
Flying Lotus – ‘More (feat. Anderson .Paak)’
King Krule – ‘Alone, Omen 3’
Lauv – ‘Modern Loneliness’
Sorry – ‘Right Round The Clock’
Squid – ‘Sludge’
Sudan Archives – ‘Confessions’
Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela – ‘We’ve Landed’
Yves Tumor – ‘Gospel For A New Century’

Best Independent Album in Association with Spotify

Brooke Bentham – Everyday Nothing
Everything Is Recorded – Friday Forever
Kidjo Ojua – The Mixtape
Kim Gordon – No Home Record
Laura Marling – Song For Our Daughter
Moses Boyd – Dark Matter
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
The Ninth Wave – Infancy
Phoenix Da Icefire & Husky Brown – Panacea
Sarathy Korwar – More Arriving

Best (Difficult) Second Album

Floating Points – Crush
FKA twigs – Magdalene
Joe Armon Jones – Turn To Clear View
Life – A Picture of Good Health
Moses Sumney – GRÆ

Best Independent Remix

Lafawndah – Tourish X Nídia Rework
King of the Rollers – You Got Me (S.P.Y. Remix)
Makaya McCraven – Gil Scott-Heron – We’re New Again
Apparat – Outliet (Solomon Remix)
Marie Davidson – Work It (Soulwax Remix)

One to Watch in Association with BBC Music Introducing

Arlo Parks
Blanco White
Greentea Peng
Lavida Loca

Best Creative Packaging in Association with Signature Brew

Digga D – Double Tap Diaries
Hania Rani – ‘Esja’ Sheet Music Book
Motörhead – 1979
SOPHIE – Oil of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides non-stop Remix Album
Moses Boyd – Dark Matter LP (Dinked Edition)

Best Independent Video

Black Pumas – ‘Colors’
Bombay Bicycle Club – ‘Eat, Sleep, Wake (Nothing But You)’
Flying Lotus – Black Balloons Reprise (feat. Denzel Curry)’
Greentea Peng – ‘Mr. Sun (Miss Da Sun)’
The Howl & The Hum – ‘The Only Boy Racer Left On The Island’
Zebra Katz – ‘Moor’

Outstanding Contribution to Music in Association with Merlin

Tony Allen

Read next: The Art of Jazz: a conversation with Moses Boyd

You might like