20.10.2011, Words by dummymag

Dinosaur L's '24→24 Music' LP will be reissued this month

Arthur Russell's 1981 album '24-24 Music' gets a mega, 4 LP reissue, together with previously unreleased material, photographs, artwork and testimonials.

Arthur Russell fans, listen up!

The New York-based label once ran by the avant garde composer / disco legand himself, Sleeping Bag have compiled some of Arthur’s finest output for the label under the name Dinosaur L., including previously unreleased material, on a 4LP set.

Titled ’24-24 Music’, this album includes tracks from the ’24/24’ LP, ‘In The Corn Belt’, multiple edits of ‘Go Bang’; not to mention A.R.‘s lesser known productions as Felix, Sounds Of JHS 126 Brooklyn, Bonzo Goes To Washington, and Indian Ocean.

This LP is housed in a deluxe screen-printed, heavyweight boxset including printed inner sleeves, unpublished photographs, artwork and testimonials, pus liner notes by Arthur’s biographer Tim Lawrence.

Arthur Russell – ’24-24 Music (The Definitive 4LP Box Set)’ [Sleeping Bag] tracklisting:

A1. Dinosaur L – #1 (You’re Gonna Be Clean On Your Bean)
A2. Dinosaur L – #5 (Go Bang!)
A3. Dinosaur L – #2 (No, Thank You)
B1. Dinosaur L – #7
B2. Dinosaur L – #3 (In The Corn Belt)
B3. Dinosaur L – #6 (Get Set)
C1. Dinosaur L – #1 Clean On Your Bean
C2. Dinosaur L – #5 Go Bang! (Francois K Mix)
D1. Dinosaur L – Go Bang! (Thank You Arthur Edit)
D2. Dinosaur L – In The Corn Belt (Larry Levan Remix)
E1. Dinosaur L – Go Bang! (Walter Gibbons Mix)
F1. Bonzo Goes To Washington – 5 Minutes (B-b-b Bombing Mix)
F2. Felix – Tiger Stripes (Extended Version)
F3. The Sounds Of J.H.S. 126 Brooklyn – Chill Pill (Underwater Mix)
G1. Indian Ocean – School Bell / Treehouse
G2. You Can’t Hold Me Down (Extended Version)
H1. Indian Ocean – Treehouse / School Bell (Extended Bootleg Edit)
H2. Bonzo Goes To Washington – 5 Minutes (R-r-r Radio Mix)
H3. The Sounds Of J.H.S. 126 Brooklyn ft The Educational Crew – You Can’t Hold Me Down (Test Pressing Version – Previously Unreleased)

Sleeping Bag will release Arthur Russell’s ’24-24 Music’ LP on 31st October, 2011

You might like