10.04.2013, Words by dummymag

Floating Points - Wires

The Mancunian producer shares an elegant 11-minute opus, set to appear on Eglo Records' forthcoming compilation.

Eglo Records, the label run by Floating PointsAKA Sam Shephard – is four years old this year, and they’re releasing a compilation of new and old material to celebrate. Alongside fresh material from label mainstays Fatima and Funkineven, Sam has gone all out for new track Wires, working with an ensemble of 11 other musicians for this 11-minute organ and string-led opus.

When we spoke to Sam in 2010 he was looking ahead to three more years as a PhD student in neuroscience, with music a part-time passion. You can sense something of the scientist in the systematic build of Wires, with dusty movie soundtrack organ riffs being overrun by Eastern-tinged strings. Later, flutters of classic minimalist synth and horn sequences build of fluid drums – and when the subtlest of warbling bass drops in around the nine-minute mark, the results are just ace. It’s reminiscent of Pantha Du Prince’s recent forays into symphonic sound, and a reminder of what a talent Floating Points is. Check out the full tracklist for ‘Eglo Records Vol.1’ after you’ve delved into Wires for yourself.


1. Floating Points – Radiality
2. Floating Points – Vacuum Boogie
3. Funkineven feat. Fatima – Kleer
4. Shuanise – Catch
5. Fatima – Soul Glo
6. Funkineven – She’s Acid
7. Floating Points – Shark Chase
8. Arp.101 – Dead Leaf
9. Funkineven – Heart Pound
10. Arp.101 – Flush
11. Mizz Beats – Sanctuary

1. Fatima feat. Floating Points – Innervisions
2. Floating Points – Sais(Dub)
3. Floating Points – Marylin
4. Funkineven – Roland’s Jam
5. Floating Points – Danger
6. Arp.101 – U
7. Mizz Beats – Scientific Brainpriest
8. Floating Points – Myrtle Avenue
9. Fatima – Visit You
10. Floating Points Ensemble – Wires
11. Shuanise – Mercy
12. GB Presents The Abstract Eye – Reflexes

Eglo Records will release ‘Eglo Records Vol.1’ on the 29th April.

You might like