New Music
Slowthai 1 Credit George Muncey
25.01.2023, Words by Billy Ward

slowthai announces album number three with punky new single 'Selfish'

"This album is completely me… it’s everything I’ve been leading up to"

Great news for slowthai fans out there today as the Northampton artist reveals details of his anticipated and long-teased third album 'UGLY', out March 3 via Method Records.

Sharing his first single from the upcoming project, an intense, post punk-inflicted lead offering, 'Selfish' plunges into the rock influences from the artist's upbringing and places down a marker for what to expect from the new album.

"The first album was the sound of where I’m from and everything I thought I knew,” says slowthai. “The second album is what was relevant to me at that moment in time, the present. And this album is completely me — about how I feel and what I want to be… it’s everything I’ve been leading up to.”

slowthai didn't grow up wanting to be a rapper, he always dreamt of being in a band. A departure from the rapping we've come to associate with slowthai and a return to the roots of Tyron Kaymone Frampton, 'UGLY' features much more singing and vocal work as the artist takes the rock-influenced sound he's flirted with across his discography further than ever before.

Produced by Dan Carey at his home studio in South London and alongside ​​frequent collaborator Kwes Darko, 'UGLY' is a fluid combination of musicians including Ethan P. Flynn, Jockstrap’s Taylor Skye, Beabadoobee guitarist Jacob Bugden, drummer Liam Toon, and Fontaines D.C. 

Right now slowthai is inside a custom built room fitted floor to ceiling with 2-way mirrors. He entered the room last night and will continue to spend time with himself throughout the day while being live streamed to the world. Watch the live stream HERE.

Stream 'Selfish' below:

  • Tracklist:
  • Yum
  • Selfish
  • Sooner
  • Feel Good
  • Never Again
  • Fuck It Puppet
  • UGLY
  • Falling
  • Wotz funny
  • Tourniquet
  • 25% Club

You might like
10 Best