24.01.2012, Words by Charlie Jones

Kevin McPhee – Outs

Bristol label Tectonic Recordings have a compilation coming out, and you can listen to the first track to emerge here from Toronto's Kevin McPhee.

These days if you throw a brick in Bristol how many promising producers in the bassy/housey/techy region of things are you bound to hit? Pinch’s label Tectonic Recordings are probably responsible for a lot of this image of the city, with impressive releases aplenty since 2005. They’re now set to release their third compilation, ‘Tectonic Plates Volume 3’, which sounds just as promising as the tracklist (see below), with contributions from Kryptic Minds (their track The Talisman finally seeing a release), Roska, Om Unit, Addison Groove, and 2562 among others. Boiler Room recently posted up this track off the compilation from Toronto’s Kevin McPhee. Outs is a hard-nosed piece of techno-fied bass, perhaps closest to someone like Objekt, and a strong taster for a pretty exciting set of tracks.

Tracklist for ‘Tectonic Plates Volume 3’:
1. Kryptic Minds – The Talisman
2. Addison Groove – Phantom
3. Tunnidge – Universal
4. Pinch – Blow Out The Candle
5. Goth Trad – Mach
6. Clue Kid – Evolution
7. Roska – 480 BC
8. Monky – Float
9. Ginz – Chrome
10. OM Unit – Preshah
11. Kevin McPhee – Outs
12. Illum Sphere – Promise A Secret
13. 2562 – Rogue State

Tectonic Recordings will release ‘Tectonic Plates Volume 3’ on 19th March 2012

You might like