04.06.2013, Words by dummymag

Premiere: M A N I K - Black Butter 3rd Birthday Mix

London’s Black Butter Records, home to house renovators like Gorgon City and the d ‘n’ b-collides-with-classical mash-up that is Clean Bandit, turn 3 years old this summer. To celebrate, they’re hosting a knees-up at the Oval Space on Saturday, which will of course be headlined by dance-pop hit-makers Rudimental – who Black Butter helped to break – with Yasmin and garage hero DJ EZ also on the bill. Also making an appearance will be New York whizzkid M A N I K, who’s put together this mix to prep things for the weekend. It’s a stout reflection of the kind of pristine-but-punchy house the label has frequently championed – with label picks like Clean Bandit’s summery-smooth feature on Gorgon City’s _Intentions nestling alongside Lauer’s blossoming rework of Jee Day’s Sum Of Love, and the neat addition of Movement’s sleek pop smash Feel Real. Listen or download below, and cop the full tracklist after the drop.


1. Pedestrian- Hoyle Road (Falty DL Remix)
2. MANIK– Nothing Better
3. Jesse Perez- Interracial Booty Calls (Jimmy Edgar Remix)
4. Greymater- Pick N Roll
5. Gorgon City- Intentions ft. Clean Bandit (Club Mix)
6. Jamie Trench- Velvet Curtains
7. Jee Day- Sum Of Love (Lauer Remix)
8. Forget Me Not- Only You
9. MCDE– The Stranger
10. Movement- Feel Real
11. Johnwaynes- I Can See (Jacques Renault Remix)
12. James Blake- Life Round Here (MANIK Ghost Pines Rework)

You might like